Sodium Caseinate (Milk Powder)

Sodium Caseinate

Sodium Caseinate

Often, foods and other lifestyle choices can aggravate an existing health issue and if not, staying informed and taking care of what you eat is an important part of healthy living. The information here is intended to give you a starting point if you suspect that your diet or lifestyle may be affecting your health.

This product is found in most powdered drinks supplied by coffee houses.

They may tell you that there is no dairy but read on. This is used in coffee whiteners, and powder based coffee additives.

Sodium Caseinate is the biochemical name for casein, this a protein that is found in the milk of all mammals.

Casein, is the Latin for “cheese” it is a major component of commercially produced cheeses and the principle protein.

Casein is also used as a food additive and for industrial purposes. Some people are allergic to sodium caseinate.

Casein also has a similar protein structure to Gluten, therefore anyone with a gluten allergy should avoid anything that contains this.

It has been linked to many human diseases, mainly autism and gastrointestinal problems. In additional to possible triggers for seizures. (Ask a traditional or homeopathic doctor)

Monosodium glutamate (also known as MSG, Gelatin, Calcium Caseinate, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Textured Protein, Monopotassium glutamate, Hydrolyzed Plant Protein, Yeast Extract, Glutamate, Autolyzed Plant Protein Yeast, Glutamic Acid, Sodium Caseinate, Autolyzed Yeast) is a commonly-used flavor-enhancer found in packaged foods and in some restaurants.

Check the labeling or ask at the restaurant!

Is Sodium Caseinate Vegetarian or Vegan?

Sodium Caseinate is made from “milk whey” by a chemical process. If you are Lacto-Vegetarian it’s OK to use, But if you are full vegetarian or vegan it is an animal product so NO!

What is Sodium Caseinate?

Being a derivative of milk, it is dairy. However, the protein has been so altered the F D A does not consider it to be dairy. Therefore, companies are allowed to use this additive as a “non-dairy” product. Interesting!

What is the formula for Sodium Caseinate?

The formula is NaCAS

What is Sodium Caseinate Made of?

They take the milk and extract the Casein Acid and then react it with Sodium Hydroxide, this becomes “ Sodium Caseinate”. Its used as a dietary supplement and is a modified dairy product.

Some Non-Dairy Coffee Creamers use “Sodium Caseinate”.

Some Vegan and Vegetarian Protein powders use “Sodium Caseinate”.

Check your labels!


5 thoughts on “Sodium Caseinate (Milk Powder)

  1. Rimat says:

    My good friend and colleague said that cows suffer in order to make non-dairy creamers, can you post an article about it? I think she is full of vegan bologna!

    Liked by 1 person

    • In answer to your question a lot of non dairy creamers ( I use that term very loosely) use a milk derived protein called Sodium Caseinate. Which in fact contains dairy but not lactose. They should be labeled as non lactose as they are indeed dairy. Your friend is right. In most cases the cows suffer. To keep a cow milking they remove the calves from them at a young age. Usually slaughter the bulls and get the females pregnant as soon as they can to produce more milk. It is important to read the label on non dairy creamers Avoid them if they contain caseinates. Have a great day. Mako & Hema 🙏


    • Hi Patty,
      If you are dairy and casein allergic you definitely need to avoid sodium caseinates.

      They are derived from dairy and are a casein derivative. I’m countries outside of the USA they are listed as dairy products. The FDA say because they are a modified milk protein they’re not milk?

      That’s like saying low fat milk
      Isn’t really milk because we took a lot of fat out.

      My rule of thumb is
      “If in doubt, leave it out”

      Thanks for your question
      Mako and Hema


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s